Founders 01

Arts for Learning Founder’s Circle Members. (standing,from left to right: Carmen Maria Aguirre, James M. Herron, Jane Gilbert & Lilia Gartcia; seated, left to right: R. Kirk Landon & Betst Kaplan)

On Saturday, January 25th, 2014, Arts For Learning honored eight outstanding individuals who were essential to the founding of A4L. Gathering once again at The Sagamore Hotel, the same inspiring venue for A4L’s initial founding celebration in 2001, current A4L staff and board members recognized the organization’s founders with a celebration that showcased A4L program participants and the legacy of the Founders’ vision.

The Founders’ Circle Brunch was not only a reunion, but also a celebration of the individuals who made it possible for Arts for Learning to become more than a great idea. The Founders were committed to integrity, transparency, fiscal discipline, excellence, and an unwavering dedication to children. Thirteen years hence, these traits and values continue to guide A4L and have allowed it to blossom and thrive. The current expansion and success of A4L’s programs would not have been possible without the Founders:

Carmen Maria Aguirre, Founding Board Member; Editor, Diario Las Americas

Lilia Garcia, Founding Board Member and Partner; Arts and Education Consultant

Jane Gilbert, Founding Executive Director; Community Affairs Officer, Wells Fargo

James M. Herron, Founding Board Member

Betsy Kaplan, Founding Board Member; Retired School Board Member

Kirk Landon, Founding Board Chair (2000-2003), Chair Emeritus; President, The Kirk Foundation

Rhoda Levitt, Founding Board Member, Arts Activist

Michael Spring, Founding Board Member and Partner; Director, Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs

A4L’s Board President, Ms. Kay Hancock Apfel closed the ceremony with a toast to the Founders.

Skip to content